Author Archives: Event Staff

New member of the Order of Australia shares her views on urban planning

The integral role of urban planning and infrastructure development was underlined in the 2021 Queen’s Birthday Honours, with recognition for Committee for Perth Chief Executive and Infrastructure Australia board member, Ms Marion Fulker. Ms Fulker has been appointed as a Member (AM) of the Order of Australia (General Division) for significant service to urban planning […]

TMX appoints new Director of Property

Asia-Pacific business transformation consultancy, TMX, has appointed former National Director Stefanie Frawley to lead the firm’s new Portfolio Management services. The senior move was made to strengthen TMX’s property division and complete its full end-to-end property advisory services. The services offer clients business case development, procurement and now portfolio management. Frawley will work alongside Justin […]

Deborah Spring appointed to lead RISSB

Deborah Spring has been appointed CEO of RISSB, beginning a new era for the important organisation. A NEW era has begun for Australia’s Rail Industry Safety and Standards Board (RISSB) with the appointment of Deborah Spring as chief executive. Spring, currently the board’s executive chair, has been acting CEO for two years, overseeing a 120% […]

The rocky path of an early career researcher

After spending the first 10 years of my career as a practising optometrist in Australia and the UK, I returned to Australia in 1999 and seized an opportunity at the Cornea and Contact Lens Unit (now BHVI) where I fell in love with research. I liked following protocols, discovering associations, formulating and presenting data. I […]

New Board directors drive Attack Class Project at Naval Group Australia

Naval Group Australia has appointed two new Board directors – public service executive Jane Halton and Naval Group’s Australian Future Submarine Program executive vice president Lilian Brayle. They will aid in delivering the Attack Class project. The new appointments’ experience will complement the Board’s existing skills as the program moves to a new phase and […]

Environment Minister must consider miners and minors

A Federal Court judge has backed Minister for Environment Sussan Ley’s approval of Whitehaven Coal’s Vickery mine expansion, but emphasised she has a duty of care to protect the health of children in such cases hereafter. The latest case against Ley was lodged by nine applicants – eight Australian children and their litigation representative, 86-year-old […]

Laing O’Rourke appoints Head of Sustainability

Laing O’Rourke has appointed its first ever Group Head of Sustainability, following the reveal of its global sustainability targets. Vicky Bullivant will join the company from Drax Group plc, where she was Head of Sustainable Business, and will report to Group Director of Legal Madeleina Loughrey-Grant. Laing O’Rourke aims to achieve operational net zero by […]

ALC officially names interim CEO

The Australian Logistics Council (ALC) has appointed Rachel Smith to the role of Interim Chief Executive Officer. The announcement comes as the industry body farewells current CEO Kirk Coningham whose last day was 31 May, 2021. Recruitment for a replacement CEO continues with the ALC Board commending the high quality and volume of talent that […]

Calling all ‘Highway Queens’

The ‘Highway Queens’ project will share the stories of some of Australia’s and New Zealand’s fearless female truckies, while raising money for a very worthy cause. A few years ago, Aussie truckie Jacqui Pyres came up with the idea of a book where the stories of female truckies could be collated and shared, with the […]

Australian Government gives boost to women in STEM roles

The Australian Government has pledged almost $2 million in funding to support women in science, technology, engineering and mathematics (STEM) roles across the country. The funding is part of the government’s Women in Stem and Entrepreneurship (WISE) grants program, which provided $9.95 million in its first three rounds. Minister for Industry, Science and Technology Christian […]