National Trucking Awards winners revealed

The Australian Trucking Association (ATA) has announced the winners of its 2023 National Trucking Industry Awards, which were presented during a gala dinner event at the Trucking Australia Conference on the Sunshine Coast on Friday, March 31.

The ATA Foundation Sponsors Award Gala Dinner was a chance to celebrate the achievements of the industry, capping off the association’s three-day conference with a bang.

The 2023 National Trucking Industry Award Winners are:

Outstanding Contribution to the Australian Trucking Industry: Jacquelene Brotherton (TWAL)

The chair of Transport Women Australia Limited (TWAL) – and popular columnist for Big Rigs and PR manager for Australian Truck Radio – Jacquelene Brotherton has dedicated over 30 years to the transport industry across the livestock, general and refrigerated transport sectors. Her extensive experience includes everything from Chain of Responsibility compliance to fleet management and warehousing.

She has also long advocated for women in non-traditional careers in transport and logistics through a variety of initiatives including mentoring and scholarship programs.

National Professional Driver of the Year: Steven Broadbent – Freestone’s Transport

Broadbent has been driving trucks since he was 21, driving around 6 million kilometres. He’s transported everything from livestock through to Formula 1 cars!

He has worked with all types of load restraint tools, including dogs and chains, straps, ropes, tarps, tautliners, logging skels, drop-decks, flat tops, vans and flat-racks.

He has driven everything up to triple road trains and been all over Australia on all types of roads requiring him to drive to the conditions at all times.

Broadbent used to drive delicate glass bottles from Penrith to Brisbane via the Putty Road and was renowned for never losing a bottle. He has never been involved in an at-fault accident, in any vehicle, car or truck.

National Trucking Industry Woman of the Year: Alina Hawkins (LRTAV)

Alina Hawkins is known throughout the trucking industry as a passionate advocate for the livestock transport sector.

In 2016, she received an LRTAV Outstanding Industry Contribution Award for her contribution to the livestock transport industry.

Hawkins is admired for her in-depth knowledge of transport industry issues and the professionalism she demonstrates by her ability to research, consult, communicate effectively and to operate efficiently to support the business, policies, goals and objectives of her colleagues in rural trucking.

National Training Excellence Award: CMV Truck & Bus
CMV Truck & Bus is a Victorian based dealership group representing the Mack Trucks, UD Trucks and Volvo Truck and Bus brands.

TruckSafe John Kelly Memorial Award: SeaRoad Logistics Pty Ltd

The TruckSafe John Kelly Memorial Award recognises a TruckSafe accredited operator that has implemented and promoted the program in an exceptional fashion. This operator fosters a strong culture of safety in every part of their business.

SeaRoad’s road freight services provide integrated logistics services between mainland Australia and Tasmania. Its fleet can provide a fully integrated service, including freight pickup, packing, container transport, unpacking and delivery.

Don Watson Memorial Award: Ron Finemore

Executive chairman of Ron Finemore Transport Pty Ltd with over 55 years’ experience in the Australian trucking industry.

This article originally appeared on Big Rigs.

Social Share