New appointments to ARTC Board

Peter Duncan has been appointed as the new Chair, and Dr Collette Burke made a non-executive director, of the Australian Rail Track Corporation (ARTC) Board. Both appointments are three-year terms.

ARTC plays a vital role in managing the nation’s interstate freight rail network, and is also delivering Inland Rail, enhancements such as the Port Botany Duplication and several other significant Government-funded infrastructure projects that will build the resilience and capability of Australian rail transport.

Duncan replaces the Warren Truss, who stepped down as Chair in November 2022. Duncan has more than 40 years’ experience in government and infrastructure, working at local, state and national levels.

He is the current Chair of WaterNSW, Deputy Chair and Commissioner of the NSW Independent Planning Commission and a Board Member of the Office of Projects Victoria. He is a former chief executive of NSW Roads and Maritime Services, director-general of the NSW Department of Services Technology and Administration, and managing director of Forests NSW.

Dr Burke is a highly qualified and experienced engineer with more than 25 years’ experience in the infrastructure construction sector. She was the inaugural Victorian Chief Engineer and has a strong understanding of the rail industry. She also previously held various senior roles with Leighton Contractors and management positions with Thiess John Holland.

The appointments follow the recent independent review of the Inland Rail project conducted by Kerry Schott, whose report has been provided to the Government. It reveals significant concerns about the governance and delivery of Inland Rail. The Government intends to release Dr Schott’s report and the Government’s response to its recommendations as soon as it has been fully considered.

This article originally appeared on Rail Express.

Social Share