2019 Women in Industry Awards winners revealed

The 2019 Women in Industry Awards took place in Melbourne last night, celebrating the brilliant, hard-working women helping advance Australian industry.

Attendees at the awards venue at The Park in Albert Park came from a wide variety of sectors such as mining, manufacturing, road and rail, logistics and bulk handling, process infrastructure, and much more.

In total, there were 71 nominees spread across 10 different awards categories, with each one representing excellence in different fields and categories.

The winners and nominees all showed considerable leadership and commitment to their various sectors. The conference and awards show also offered the opportunity to provide insight into issues of gender equality in male-dominated industries.

This year’s Excellence in Mining category, which was sponsored by Rockwell Automation, went to Jodi Moffitt, manager operations planning at Roy Hill, who thanked her mother in her speech and received flowers delivered from company owner Gina Rinehart.

Moffitt started her mining career as a production operator at Rio Tinto at the age of 19. In her current role at Roy Hill, she has played a key role in the development of one of Roy Hill’s technologically advanced remote operation centres (ROC).

Moffitt worked with onwin team of four supervisors and 40 controllers on the project, which provides 24/7 operational control of Roy Hills mining fleet, as well as its train load out, port operations, crushing circuit and wet process plant.

The full list of winners of the 2019 Women in Industry Awards is as follows:

Social Leader of the Year
Penelope Noelle Twemlow, chair and CEO, Women in Power

Rising Star of the Year
Diana Delac, site engineer, Fulton Hogan

Business Development Manager of the Year
Melissa Waters, marketing, brand and innovation manager, Hebel and Velocity

Industry Advocacy Award
Alice Edwards, technical project engineer, The Crane Industry Council of Australia

Safety Advocacy Award
Kristen Sandford, safety manager, CSR Limited

Mentor of the Year
Celeste Ward, process engineer, Stantec Australia

Excellence in Manufacturing
Amber Burdett-Dow, customer experience program manager, BOC

Excellence in Mining
Jodi Moffitt, manager planning, Roy Hill

Excellence in Engineering
Alana Duncker, senior consultant, Stantec Australia

Excellence in Road Transport
Sondra Kremerskothen, group manager – training, Linfox Australia

Social Share